Situated in northwestern Caledonia County and surrounded by Danville, Cabot, Greensboro, Hardwick and Stannard, Walden was chartered on Aug. 18, 1781 to Moses Robinson and 64 others.
It was originally in Orange County until the formation of Caledonia County in 1796. Joe’s Brook, which flows out of Cole’s Pond in the northern part of town, runs south into Joe’s Pond in Cabot and West Danville. Cole’s Pond was discovered by a hunter of the same name from St. Johnsbury. Lyford Pond, in the southern part of town, was discovered by one of Gen. Hazen’s men of the same name. Walden was founded along the historic Bayley Hazen Road, an important supply route during the Revolutionary War that runs along the western border of town. In 1779, a block house was built in this territory and a small garrison was left to defend it. The officer left in command was named Walden, who requested the town receive his name when chartered.
Walden is known for its elevation and abundant snowfall. The highest point is the summit of Stannard Mountain, near the town’s northern border, with an elevation of 2,579 feet.
One of Walden's hidden treasurers is the Steam Mill Brook Wildlife Management Area, a 10,826-acre that is open to regulated hunting, trapping, fishing, hiking and wildlife viewing. It is surrounded by Noyestar Road, Summerhill Road and Stevens Hill Road. The WMA can be accessed from a number of places, including Stannard Mountain Road, Coles Pond Road in Walden and Danville, and Rock Road.
Walden has no post office, zip code or centralized village, but Walden School, PK-8, educates elementary students who can then be tuitioned to any approved secondary school in the region. Walden’s location offers picturesque views of the surrounding Green Mountains. The town is easily accessed using Route 15, a major highway connecting the Northeast Kingdom with the northwestern region of Vermont.