Located on the Connecticut River in eastern Essex County, Bloomfield is bounded by the town of Brunswick and the unorganized towns of Lewis, and Lemington.
Granted as Minehead in 1762 on the same day and to the same group of Connecticut residents as neighboring Averill, Lemington and Lewis, the original name is taken from the town of the same name in England, where many of the families of the grantees originated. The name was changed by the Vermont legislature to Bloomfield in 1830. The origin of the name has two possibilities: chosen for its descriptive connotations, or to honor Joseph Bloomfield, a major in the Revolutionary War and a brigadier general in the War of 1812, during which he commanded a battalion at the Battle of Plattsburgh.
The population and economy of Bloomfield has risen and fallen over the years. At its height, several hundred men were employed in lumbering and milling operations of the Nulhegan Lumber Company, which owned most of the land around a village then known as South Bloomfield; its location is now marked only by a cemetery. The town lies at the intersection of the Connecticut and Nulhegan Rivers, and like many other towns in the county, lumber was the primary industry. This portion of the Northeast Kingdom is sparsely populated, but it offers tremendous natural scenery and acres of undisturbed wilderness.
The Nulhegan Basin Division, part of the Silvio O. Conte National Fish and Wildlife Refuge, was established to protect the diversity and abundance of native species within the 7.2 million-acre Connecticut River watershed. An extensive road system gives visitors the ability to experience the rugged quality of the Division and access to scenic vistas, perfect for wildlife dependent recreation. For the more actively inclined visitor, wooded pathways and stream courses can be used to hike off the roads for a deeper backwoods experience. The Lewis pond overlook provides a scenic vista of the Nulhegan Basin and the surrounding mountains. The Mollie Beattie Bog interpretive boardwalk provides visitors with information on bog habitat and wildlife.
Accessed by Route 102 from the north and south, or Route 105 from the west, Bloomfield shares a close relationship with North Strafford, N.H. on the other side of the Connecticut River.