Vermont Electric Cooperative

Established in 1938 to bring electricity to rural Vermonters, VEC serves its member-owners in 74 towns and eight counties. As a consumer-owned cooperative, VEC is a democratic organization controlled by its members. Location: 42 Wescom Road, Johnson. Phone: 635-2331. Email: Website:

Towns: Albany, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Canaan, Charleston, Coventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Greensboro, Guildhall, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Lowell, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Newport, Norton, Ryegate, Sheffield, Troy, Westfield, Westmore, Wheelock

Barton Electric Department

Barton Village Inc. supplies electric to surrounding towns and villages, as well as water and sewer to village residents. Location: 17 Village Square, PO Box 519, Barton. Phone: 525-4747. 

Towns: Barton, Brownfield, Charleston, Sutton, Westmore,

Orleans Utility Department

Orleans operates its own electric department which, aside from serving the village, also provides power to surrounding areas. It does not generate power but purchases it in bulk. It maintains the distribution system. Location: 1 Memorial Square, Orleans. Phone: 754-8584

Towns: Barton, Brownfield, Coventry, Irasburg

Hardwick Electric Department

The town of Hardwick Electric Department is a small municipal utility that is governed by a five member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Town Select Board. The service area extends into parts of eleven towns. It services approximately 4,300 electric customers encompassing 300 miles of power lines. Location: P.O. Box 516, Hardwick. Phone: 472-5201. Website: 

Towns: Craftsbury, Greensboro, Hardwick, Stannard, Walden

FairPoint Communications

FairPoint handles the majority of telephone and DSL service in the Northeast Kingdom. They are the largest network in Northern New England. Phone: 1-866-984-2001. Website:

Washington Electric Co-op

Founded in 1939 to bring electricity to rural Vermont communities and to provide members with a voice in their energy future. The Cooperative serves over 10,500 members, 97 percent of whom are residential consumers. Its service area covers 2,728 square miles in parts of 41 towns in north-central Vermont, in the counties of Washington, Orange, Caledonia and Orleans. It operates approximately 1,200 miles of distribution line, with eight substations. Location: PO Box 8, 40 Church Street, East Montpelier. Phone 223-5245. Website: 

Towns: Barnet, Cabot, Danville, Groton, Hardwick, Peacham, Ryegate, Stannard, Walden, Wheelock

Green Mountain Power

Green Mountain Power (GMP) serves approximately 265,000 residential and business customers in Vermont. Location: 163 Acorn Lane, Colchester. Phone: 1-888-835-4672. Email: Website:

Towns: Barnet, Cabot, Concord, Danville, Granby, Groton, Guildhall, Kirby, Lunenburg, Peacham, Ryegate, St. Johnsbury, Victory, Waterford.

Lyndonville Electric Department

Managed by the Village of Lyndonville and consistently has one of the lowest residential rates in the State of Vermont. Location: 46 Grove Street, PO Box 167, Lyndonville. Phone: 626-3366 Towns: Burke, Kirby, Lyndon, Newark, Sheffield, Victory, Westmore, Wheelock

Charter Communications

Phone: 1-888-438-2427. Website: 

Towns: Barnet, Burke, Cabot, Concord, Danville, Groton, Hardwick, Kirby, Lyndon, Peacham, Ryegate, Sheffield, St. Johnsbury, Sutton, Waterford


Phone: 1-800-934-6489. Website: 

Towns: Barton, Brighton, Coventry, Derby, Irasburg, Jay, Lowell, Morgan, Newport, Troy, Westfield, Westmore